STATE INCOME WITHHOLDING INFORMATION

State/ When to When to Mandatory Exception to Federal | Allocation | When to Send [ How Long to Maximum
Contact Info Start Send Deductions CCPA Limits of Orders/ | Termination | Retain Order Admin Fee
Withholding Payment Priority Notice After (optional)
(“within” the Scheme | (of employees | Employee’s
# of days with orders | Termination
stated, after only)
payday)
Alabama Immediately | 7 business Federal, state, None Prorate Promptly No law or $2 per month
(334) 864-2309 upon receipt | days city taxes, FICA policy
Janice Grubbs
jgrubbs@dhr.state.al.us
Alaska 1* payday 7 business Federal, state, 40% of disposable Prorate Promptly 3 years after | $5 per payment
(907) 269-6900 after receipt days city taxes, FICA, |income; may go up to termination
mandatory 65% when good cause
retirement plans | is determined by
agency as outlined in
Alaska Admin. Code
Arizona 1% pay period |2 business Federal, state, 50% of disposable Prorate 10 days after | At least 90 $1 per payment
Customer Service Employer Line occurring 14 | days local income income termination days or $4 per month,
(602) 274-3792 days after date taxes, FICA, whichever is
of notice Medicare taxes greater
Arkansas 1% pay period | Payday Federal, state, None Prorate Immediately | Keep on file | $2.50 per
(501) 682-8710 occurring 14 local income until notified | payment
Mary Smith days after date taxes, FICA,
mary.e.smith@ocse.state.ar.us notice was Medicare,
mailed Railroad
Retirement,
medical
insurance for
dependent
children
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Contact Info Start Send Deductions CCPA Limits of Orders/ | Termination | Retain Order Admin Fee
Withholding Payment Priority Notice After (optional)
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# of days with orders | Termination
stated, after only)
payday)
California 10 days after | 7 business Federal, state and | Cannot exceed 50% of | Prorate Within 10 No law or $1 per payment
(916) 464-5055 receipt days local taxes; disposable earnings; days policy
Monisha Avery FICA; Medicare; | or 25% (may be lower
Monisha.avery@dcss.ca.gov and disability by written agreement)
insurance; union | of state disability,
dues and temporary worker's
payments to compensation
public benefits, or
employees’ unemployment benefit
retirement payments.
systems,
provided that the
deductions are
required as a
condition of
employment
Colorado 14 business 7 business Federal, state, None Prorate 10 days after | Keep on file | $5 per month
(720) 927-5000 days after days city taxes, FICA termination until notified | (from remainder
child.support@state.co.us order is mailed by child of employee’s
to employer support income after
agency deductions and
withholding)
Connecticut 1% pay period |7 business Federal , state 85% of 1% $145 per Prorate Promptly No retention | No provision
www.ctchildsupport.com after 14 days | days city taxes, FICA, | week of disposable unless
from service normal income is exempt employee may
retirement from withholding; return at a
contributions only $123.25 if later date

income is equal or
greater than $145 (if
income < $145, 85%
is calculated from
disposable income)
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Contact Info Start Send Deductions CCPA Limits of Orders/ | Termination | Retain Order Admin Fee
Withholding Payment Priority Notice After (optional)
(“within” the Scheme | (of employees | Employee’s
# of days with orders | Termination
stated, after only)
payday)
Delaware 7 days after 1% | On or before | Federal, state, None Prorate No timeframe | No law or No provision
(302) 326-6024 payday after | payday city taxes, FICA, specified policy
Janet Loper receipt mandatory
jloper@state.de.us retirement, union
dues, public
assistance
payments, tax
refunds
District of Columbia 7 business Payday Federal, state, None Prorate 10 days after | No law or $2 per payment
(202) 879-1383 days after city taxes, FICA termination policy
Roderick Norris payday
Florida 1% pay period |2 days Federal, state, None Prorate Promptly No law or $5 for 1%
(800) 622-5437 occurring 14 city taxes, FICA policy payment, $2 per
DORCSE@dor state.fl.us business days payment
after date thereafter
notice was
posted
Georgia 1% pay period |2 business None None Prorate Promptly No law or $25 for set-up
(404) 657-3864 occurring 14 | days policy fee for 1%
Angelo Bonito business days payment, $3 for
ambonito@dhr.state.ga.us after date all others
order is mailed
Guam Federal, state, 60% of disposable Pay equal Notify agency | No provision
(671) 475-3360 city taxes, FICA | income if NCP has no | amount if employee s
Diane Blas other family; 50% terminated
Diane.blas@guamcse.net with another family
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Hawaii 1% pay period |5 business Federal, state, None Prorate Immediately | Keep order $2 per payment
(808) 692-7000 within 7 days | days city taxes, FICA until notified
from mailing by IV-D
Idaho 1% pay period |7 business Federal and state | 50% of disposable Prorate Promptly Keep until $5 per payment
Kristy White after receipt days income taxes, income notified

(208) 334-4975
(208) 334-5814
whitek@idhw.state.id.us

FICA.
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Ilinois 1% payday 7 business Federal, state, None Prorate 7 days after No law or $5 per month
(217) 782-1380 after receipt days; and local taxes termination policy
Robert Hopp if remitting and other
AIDLSU@mail.idpa.state.il.us for 10 or retirement and
more disability
employees contributions
OR required to be
if have 250 withheld by law,
employees or | FICA, union
more (do not | dues, any
all have to be | amounts
in IL) and exempted by the
remitting for | federal Consumer
1 or more, Credit Protection
must send Act, public
payments assistance
ELECTRONI | payments, and
CALLY unemployment
insurance
benefits except as
provided by law.
(per 750 ILCS
28/15(d)).
Indiana 14 business Payday; Federal, state, None Prorate 10 days after | No law or $2 per payment
Mike Aronson, Bill Steffen days after if remitting city taxes, FICA termination policy
(800) 292-0403 order is for 50 or
received more
employees,
must send
payments
ELECTRONI
CALLY
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# of days with orders | Termination
stated, after only)
payday)
lowa 10 days after | 7 business Federal, state, 50% of disposable Prorate Promptly No law or $2 per payment
(515) 281-8349 receipt days city taxes, FICA |income policy
Shelley Chambers
Kansas 1% pay period |7 business Federal, state, None Divide Promptly No law or Lesser of $5 per
(785) 296-3237 after 14 days | days city taxes, FICA equally policy pay period or
from receipt and other $10 per month
retirement and
disability
contributions
Kentucky 1% pay period |7 business Federal, state, None Prorate Promptly No law or $1 per payment
(502) 564-2285, ext. 4428 after 14 days city taxes, FICA policy
Barbara Wright business days
Barbara.wright@mail.state.ky.us after date of
notice
Louisiana 1% pay period |7 business Federal, state, 50% of disposable Prorate 10 days after | No law or $5 per pay
(225) 342-2148 after receipt days city taxes, FICA, |income termination policy period
Gloria Garner retirement,
ggarnerl@dss.state.la.us medical, life
insurance
Maine 1% payday 7 business Federal, state, None Prorate 15 days after | Order stands | $2 per payment
(207) 287-2886 after receipt days city taxes, FICA, termination until released
Ellen Drake state employee’s by the child
ellen.drake@state.me.us retirement, support
required union agency
dues
Maryland 1* pay period | 7 business Federal, state, None Prorate 10 days after | Notrequired | $2 per payment
(800) 638-3912 after receipt days city taxes, FICA termination
Pam Wilson
epinkney@csea.dhr.state.md.us
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Massachusetts 1st payday 3 days; if Federal, state, 50% of disposable Prorate Before next No law or $1 per payment
(800) 332-2733 more than 3 remitting for | city taxes, FICA [income payday policy
email via www.mass.gov/dor days after 5 or more and mandatory following
notice employees, public employee termination
must send deductions
payments
ELECTRONI
CALLY
Michigan 7 days after 3 days Federal, state, None Prorate Promptly No law or No provision
Cheryl Webster service city taxes, FICA policy
(517) 241-5083
websterc2@michigan.gov
Minnesota 1% pay period |7 business Federal, state, None Prorate 10 days after | No law or $1 per payment
Policy Help Desk occurring 14 | days city taxes, FICA termination policy
(800) 657-3890 days after
receipt
Mississippi 1% pay period |7 business Federal, state, None Prorate Promptly Do not retain; | $5 for 1%
gclayton@mdhs.state.ms.us within 14 days | days city taxes, FICA, return copy of | payment, $2 per
Genell Clayton after service other retirement order to payment
and disability agency after | thereafter
contributions termination
Missouri 2 weeks after | 7 business Federal, state, None Prorate 10 days after | No law or $6 per month
(800) 585-9234 the mailing or | days city taxes, FICA termination policy; keep
electronic order until
issuance of notified by
notice enforcing
authority
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Montana 1% pay period |7 business Federal, state, 50% of disposable Prorate Promptly Keep order $5 per month
(406) 444-6893 after receipt days city taxes, FICA, |income; if income is until notified
Julie Bailey employment not wages, earnings or by IV-D that
jbailey@state.mt.us taxes, mandatory | remuneration for order is
retirement and personal services, up terminated or
mandatory union | to 100% of net income modified
dues
Nebraska 1% pay period |7 business Federal, state city | None Prorate 30 days after | No law or $2.50 per month
(402) 479-5555 occurring 14 | days taxes, FICA, termination policy
Dan Redler days from date mandatory
of notice retirement
Nevada 1* pay period | 7 business Federal, state, None Prorate Timely No law or $3 per payment.
Customer Service Unit occurring 14 | days city taxes, FICA, policy Employer also
(775) 684-0704 days after date union dues, required to
notice is health care for collect $2 per
mailed dependents payment (max.
$4 per month) to
be sent to State
Treasurer no less
than quarterly
per NRS
31A.080(3); $2
fee to be
deducted from
the income due
obligor after
withholding of
child support.
New Hampshire 14 working Payday Federal, state, None Prorate 15 days after | No law or $1 per payment
(603) 271-4750 days after city taxes, FICA termination policy
Sarah Kourian order is mailed
skourian@dhhs.state.nh.us to employer
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New Jersey 1% pay period | Payday Federal, state, None Prorate Promptly No law; if $1 per payment
ending after city taxes, FICA employee
postmark date leaves, notify
IV-D
New Mexico Next payday |7 business Federal, state, None Prorate No specific No law or $1 per payment
(505) 827-7242 after service days city taxes, FICA; provision; policy
Tom Spahr union dues governed by
federal
requirements
to send
termination
notice
“promptly”
New York 1% pay period |7 business Federal, state, If current support only | Prorate Promptly Return order | No provision
(518) 473-0574 after 14 days | days city taxes, FICA | is due, follow federal to issuer if
from service and local taxes CCPA limits. employee
(NYC) If current support plus terminates
arrears are due,
withholding is limited
to 40% of disposable
income.
North Carolina 1% pay period |7 business Federal, state, 40% of disposable Prorate Promptly No law or $2 per payment
(919) 255-3892 occuring 14 days city taxes, FICA, |income if one order policy
Sandra Chestnut days after and involuntary | only; 45% if multiple
receipt retirement orders and NCP
contributions directly supports other
dependents; 50% if
multiple orders and no
other dependents.

Office of Child Support Enforcement Page 9 of 15
Employer Services Team

August 2004



STATE INCOME WITHHOLDING INFORMATION

State/ When to When to Mandatory Exception to Federal | Allocation | When to Send [ How Long to Maximum
Contact Info Start Send Deductions CCPA Limits of Orders/ | Termination | Retain Order Admin Fee
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# of days with orders | Termination
stated, after only)
payday)
North Dakota Next payday | 7 business Federal, state, None Prorate Within 7 Until notified | $3 per month
(701) 328-3582 after receipt of | days city taxes, FICA business days | by child
Suzanne “Sam” Witkowski notice of termination | support
sowits@state.nd.us agency that
order has
terminated
Ohio 14 business 7 business Federal, state, None Prorate 10 business Order to be $2 or up to 1%
(614) 752-6561 days after date | days city taxes, FICA days after kept on file of payment,
Jacques Saliba notice was termination until notified | whichever is
mailed OR 1st by IV-D to greater
pay period terminate or to
occurring 14 reduce
business days withholding
after date
notice was
mailed
Oklahoma Next payday |7 business Federal, state, Not exceeding 50% of | Prorate 10 days after | Ordersto be | $5 per payment;
(405) 522-2550 after receipt days city taxes, FICA | disposable income in termination kept on file up to $10 per
practice indefinitely month
Oregon 1* payday 7 business Federal, state, 50% of disposable Prorate Next payday | Until further | $5 per order per
Employer Assistance Desk within 5 days city taxes, FICA, |income unless noted notice from month

(503) 378-2868
www.dcs.state.or.us/employers.htm

business days
after date of
notice

worker’s
compensation,
statutory pension
contributions

otherwise; arrears
only cases must retain
disposable income of
160 hours x federal
minimum wage
(FMW) before
withholding occurs.)

court or entity
issuing notice
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# of days with orders | Termination
stated, after only)
payday)
Pennsylvania 1% pay period |7 business Federal, state, None Prorate No specific No law or 2% of payment
(717) 783-8557 after 7 days days city taxes, FICA provision; policy
Harold Schreiber from service governed by
hschreiber@state.pa.us federal
requirements
to send
termination
notice
“promptly”
Puerto Rico 7 business 7 business Federal, state, None Divide 30 days after | Orderstobe [ Will be stated on
(787) 767-1828 days after 1 | days city taxes, FICA equally termination kept on file order (up to $1
Carmen Arraiza payday until 30 days | per payment)
carraiza@asume.gobierno.pr after
termination
Rhode Island 1 week from | 7 days Federal, state, None Prorate 10 days after | Order remains | $2 per payment
(401) 222-2302 date received city taxes, FICA termination in effect until
Charles Anthony and Medicare modified or
canthony@cse.state.ri.us taxes terminated by
court
South Carolina Next pay 7 business Federal, state, None Prorate 20 days after | If employee $3 per payment
(803) 898-9450 period after days city taxes, FICA, termination leaves,
(800) 768-5858 service other retirement employer’s
mthigpen@dss.state.sc.us deductions, responsibility
disability ends
contributions
South Dakota 1st payday 7 business Federal, state, 50% of disposable Prorate 5 days after No law or Effective
(605) 773-3641 after receipt days city taxes, FICA, | income; total amount termination policy 7-1-2004: up to
Carmin Sommer Medicare, health | of arrearage may be $3.00 per month
carmin.sommer@state.sd.us insurance withheld from
premiums for property, money and
dependents as credits or other
ordered income not listed
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STATE INCOME WITHHOLDING INFORMATION

State/ When to When to Mandatory Exception to Federal | Allocation | When to Send [ How Long to Maximum
Contact Info Start Send Deductions CCPA Limits of Orders/ | Termination | Retain Order Admin Fee
Withholding Payment Priority Notice After (optional)
(“within” the Scheme | (of employees | Employee’s
# of days with orders | Termination
stated, after only)
payday)
Tennessee 14 days after | 7 business Federal, state, 50% of disposable Prorate Promptly No law or Up to 5% of
(615) 313-2282 or date of the days city taxes, FICA |income policy payment, not to
(615) 313-4880 order and health exceed $5 per
Betty Smith insurance month
betty.smith@mail.state.tn.us premiums for
dependent
Texas 1% pay period | Payday; for | To arrive at Texas Family Code Health 7 days after No law or $10 per month
(512) 460-6222 after receipt EFT/EDI “Texas Family garnishment cap is insurance termination policy
honi.canon@cs.oag.state.tx.us payments, no | Code disposable | 50% of Texas Family | premiums,
later than 2™ | earnings,” Code disposable then equally
business day | calculate CCPA | earnings, plus the among
after payday | disposable garnishment amount | garnishment
earnings and then | for health insurance; if | s for current
subtract union the CCPA support;
dues and garnishment limit is then equally
medical, hospital | lower, the CCPA limit | among
and disability applies. garnishment
insurance for s for past-
employee and due support.
dependents.
Utah 1* pay period |7 business Federal, state, None Prorate 5 days after Keep One-time fee of
(801) 536-0352 occurring 5 days city taxes, FICA, termination withholding $25 (may be
Elisa LaJeunesse business days and Medicare order in place |charged all at
elajeunesse@utah.gov after receipt until notified | once, or over
several pay
periods)
Vermont 10 days after | 7 business Federal, state, None Prorate 10 days after | No law or $5 per month
(800) 786-3214 receipt or next | days city taxes, FICA termination policy
Employer Outreach payday
empl@ocs.state.vt.us
Office of Child Support Enforcement Page 12 of 15
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(“within” the Scheme | (of employees | Employee’s
# of days with orders | Termination
stated, after only)
payday)
Virginia Next payday | Payday if by | Federal, state, None Prorate Promptly No specific $5 per payment
(800) 257-9986 after service mail; 4 days | city taxes, FICA retention
Pat Watson after payday period
Pat.Watson@dss.virginia.gov if viaEFT
Virgin Islands Federal, state, None Divide Order to be Upto $1
(340) 775-3070 x 3000 city taxes, FICA equally kept until date
Regina DeChabert of termination
Ginad_13@hotmail.com or
modification
Washington 1* payday 7 days Federal, state, 50% of disposable Prorate Promptly Discard upon | $10 for 1
(800) 591-2760 after receipt city taxes, FICA | income termination payment; $1 for
all others
West Virginia 1* pay period | Payday Federal, state, None if paying current | Prorate Promptly Retain order | $1 per payment

(800) 835-4683
Employer Relations Unit

occurring 14
days from date
of order is
mailed to
employer

city taxes, FICA

only; if paying current
and arrears, collection
of arrears cannot
exceed 25 % of
current support, unless
arrears are over an
amount equal to 6
months of support,
then withhold an
additional $100/month
and continue until
employee has no
arrearage in any case.
If paying on multiple
orders, there are
maximum percentages
of:

(1) If the arrears are
owed for twelve (12)
weeks or more, the

until notified
by child
support
agency

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Employer Services Team
August 2004

Page 13 of 15
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State/ When to When to Mandatory Exception to Federal | Allocation | When to Send [ How Long to Maximum
Contact Info Start Send Deductions CCPA Limits of Orders/ | Termination | Retain Order Admin Fee
Withholding Payment Priority Notice After (optional)
(“within” the Scheme | (of employees | Employee’s
# of days with orders | Termination
stated, after only)
payday)
limits are:
(A) 45% of the

obligor's disposable
earnings if the obligor
is supporting another
spouse or other
dependents; OR

(B) 55% of the
obligor's disposable
earnings if the obligor
does not have another
spouse or other
dependents.

(2) If no arrears exist
or the arrearage owed
is for less than twelve
(12) weeks, the limits
are:

(A) 40% of the
obligor's disposable
earnings if the obligor
is supporting another
spouse or other
dependents; OR

(B) 50% of the
obligor's disposable
earnings if the obligor
has no other spouse or
dependents.

Office of Child Support Enforcement Page 14 of 15
Employer Services Team

August 2004



STATE INCOME WITHHOLDING INFORMATION

State/ When to When to Mandatory Exception to Federal | Allocation | When to Send [ How Long to Maximum
Contact Info Start Send Deductions CCPA Limits of Orders/ | Termination | Retain Order Admin Fee
Withholding Payment Priority Notice After (optional)
(“within” the Scheme | (of employees | Employee’s
# of days with orders | Termination
stated, after only)
payday)
Wisconsin 1% pay period |5 days Federal, state, None Prorate 10 days after | Retain until Actual costs up
(608) 267-0925 after receipt city taxes, FICA termination notified by to $3 per
Theola Carter child support | payment
Theola.carter@dwd.state.wi.us agency
Wyoming 1% pay period |7 business Federal, state, None Prorate 30 days after | No law or $5 per payment
(307) 777-5653 after service days city taxes, FICA, termination policy

Jay Mullendore
Jmullel@state.wy.us

dependent health
care coverage,
mandatory
pension
deductions, other
child support

NOTE:

Day limits are maximum number of days; i.e., “7 days after payday” means within 7 days and “10 days after termination” means within 10 days.
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